Your local candidates for the upcoming general election

Sixteen people are set to battle for votes in Islington’s two constituencies come the general election on 4 July.

a black board with white writing which says 'Polling Station' leaning against a wall
Photo: John Mounsey/Pixabay

Sixteen people are set to battle for votes in Islington’s two constituencies come the general election on 4 July.

Nine candidates have put themselves forward to be MP for Islington South and Finsbury, with another seven in Islington North.

The constituency boundaries for Islington South and Finsbury have changed ahead of this election, meaning voters in Hackney’s De Beauvoir ward now find themselves in this constituency.

There have been no other changes to the boundaries of Islington South and Finsbury, or to Islington North.

In Islington North, incumbent MP and former Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn will defend his seat as an independent candidate following his suspension from the party in 2020.

He will be up against Liberal Democrat Vikas Aggarwal, Conservative Karen Anne Harries, Sheridan Kates of the Green Party, and Labour candidate Praful Nargund.

Reform UK’s Martyn Nelson is also contesting the seat, as well as independent candidate Paul Dominic Josling.

In Islington South and Finsbury, Shadow Attorney General Emily Thornberry will be hoping to retain her seat for Labour.

She will face Green Party candidate Carne Ross, Imogen Alice Sinclair of the Conservatives, and Liberal Democrat hopeful Terry Stacy.

They will be joined on the ballot paper by Reform UK’s Max Jefferson Nelson, Jake Painter of the Social Democratic Party, Ethan Saunders of the Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition, and the Party of Women’s Lesley Woodburn.

There is also one independent candidate, Andrew Parry.

To vote in the UK general election you must:

  • be registered to vote
  • be a British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen
  • be resident at an address in the UK (or a UK citizen living abroad who has previously been registered to vote in the UK or has lived in the UK)
  • not be legally excluded from voting

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on 4 July, and you must take photo ID with you – a full list of valid identification documents can be found on this page.

If you don’t have a form of photo ID, you can apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate here.

The deadline for submitting a proxy vote application is 5pm on Wednesday 26 June.

AdBlocker Message

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

About EC1 Echo

EC1 Echo is your free local independent community news website. We publish stories to the web across the week and offer a platform for local people to highlight what matters to them. EC1 Echo is a not-for-profit project in partnership with the Peel Institute. Please consider becoming a subscriber supporter from £3.00 per month.
We need your help

Submit your listing here